RSS

The Question

03 Nov

“One for the money,” I pulled back on Mister’s swing and held him in the air. “Two for the show. Three to get ready,” I lifted him higher, “and four to go!”

Now that I had him swinging, it was time to ask the question I’d been waiting to ask for days.

“So, Buddy, I was thinking…” I start. I’m already a little afraid of his answer. “I mean, I was wondering…if you know what you’d like for your birthday party this year.”

I’m a planner. I plan my plots, my meals, my days, and especially my son’s birthday parties. Although his birthday was months away, I was itching to start planning. Right away.

“We could do a bear party since we call you ‘Bear.'” I suggested. No answer. “We could do an art party.” Nothing. “We could do a party based on one of your favorite books. Like Curious George.”

“Yeah!” he says. “Curious George! I want a Curious George birthday party!”

I sighed with relief. Last year’s Mister-chosen theme of “a star party” was vague, and, while it was fun to plan with such freedom, I was hoping for something a little easier this year. Curious George gave me characters to use, a color palette to stick to, activities for the kids, and, of course, at least one food item: bananas.

“Okay. A Curious George party sounds great,” I say. “We’ll go bananas.”

“Ha, get it?” Mister says. “Go bananas. ‘Cause he’s a monkey.”

“Yeah, buddy, I get it,” I laugh. “I can’t wait.”

The question for this week is to get your creativity flowing as you think about books. What book-themed party can you think of? What would be the colors, activities, foods, etc?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 3, 2014 in Other Stuff

 

2 responses to “The Question

  1. Ellen Arnstein

    November 5, 2014 at 4:21 pm

    Yay! You’re back! How about a party based on Around the World in Eighty Days…cultural and delicious.

     
    • cocoanqueso

      November 5, 2014 at 7:29 pm

      Good idea, Ellen! I’ll keep that in mind for when Mister is a little older. I am back. Thanks for noticing. I hope to be making a habit of it.

       

Leave a comment