RSS

Super Power

16 Sep

Well, since I’m here to write this blog post, I obviously didn’t get whooped (though maybe I should have since I missed Friday’s post…sorry!). But I did get really embarrassed. Fortunately, I have a writing gift, kind of like a super power, that helps me through these types of situations.

I don’t know how it works. Or if it has always happened or started when I began writing, but I experience situations in two ways. Here is an example:

As soon as the word “whooped” spilled out of Mister’s mouth, there was one voice in my head saying, “This is awful. Please don’t let that lady kill me. Hurry up train! Where are you? What am I going to do with this kid?”

But there was also another voice saying, “Ah this is good stuff. You need to write embarrassed. Is your heart beating fast? Good. What about sweaty palms? Not this time? Are your cheeks on fire? Super. Why can’t you stand still? Aren’t you going to look at the lady?”

Because I’m a writer, sometimes I can experience the emotions I’m feeling and live in the moment, while still somehow taking mental notes on ways I can use that emotion in my work. And the part of me that can do that thrives on difficult situations. So that same voice that was seemingly taking notes on what my body was doing when I was feeling embarrassed was probably also rooting for me to get whooped. After all, I may need a fight scene some day.

This post will also lead to a question since I missed Friday’s post (sorry again! I was baking four dozen hydrangea-iced cupcakes…but look how neat they are!).2013-09-16_13-42-45_8

Anyway, on to the question(s):

What writing gift do you have? Does it have a downside? If so, what is it?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 16, 2013 in Details, Other Stuff

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
