RSS

Can’t Believe

02 Sep

Mister is so excited he drops the quarter I asked him to hold. I stomp on it before it rolls off the train platform and check to see if the train is coming for the gazillionth time before I bend down to pick up the quarter. No train in sight. We’re going to be late.

“Now when the train comes,” I prep Mister, “we’re going to put our money in quickly and find a seat. Then we’ll ride the train to meet Daddy.”

“Okay,” he says. “But, Mum, what does this do?” He asks, pointing to the route map and touching each stop like it’s a button.

Then it hits me. I am so focused on our end destination, that I’m forgetting how exciting just the trip is for Mister. He’s only ridden this light rail train one other time in his life. With new patience, I explain the map, the rails and the wires, the poles and lines on the platform, and the most exciting part of the station: the port-o-potty.

When we step on the train, I let Mister put the money in even if it takes a little longer and we’re already late. I let him choose our seat even when he isn’t quick to decide. When he finally settles in, the only thing he can say is, “I just can’t believe we’re here.”

“I know, buddy. We’re so lucky,” I say, but I’m the really lucky one.

What moment made you feel really lucky lately? Why?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 2, 2013 in Details

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Can’t Believe

  1. salsanpeeps

    September 3, 2013 at 8:48 am

    I think watching my wife and son walk on the beach. Prior to that, it was watching them walk together pulling a wagon with his stuffed bear in it.

     
    • cocoanqueso

      September 6, 2013 at 1:09 pm

      Aww. Thanks, dear. I think what can be taken from your moments is that standing back and watching something, taking the time to appreciate something, always makes us feel lucky. P.S. I’m pretty lucky to have you.

       

Leave a Reply

