RSS

If You Can’t Say Something Nice

28 May

…don’t say anything at all. Remember that saying?

I first remember Thumper’s mother reminding him of it in the movie Bambi. As young as I was when I watched it,  the saying made sense. It still does. That’s why my blog has been quiet. It’s not that I can’t say anything nice. It’s just that, on a writing blog, I think there’s a different kind of nice. And that’s what I can’t do right now.

When I started this blog, I wanted to offer comfort and guidance to other writers, because writing is hard! I also wanted to hone my writing skills with the little anecdotes on the Monday posts, helping me observe and record the moment-to-moment everyday stuff that makes stories interesting. Lately, I haven’t been able to do any of those things. I haven’t been able to saying anything “nice.”

I’ve been working on a lot of revisions lately that have me spending a lot of time in my own head. I’m analyzing, re-plotting, re-developing characters, and re-writing. I can’t seem to get out of my head and write from the heart, or at least the unconscious, when it comes to the blog. My posts have been labored. Head-heavy. And that doesn’t help any of us.

So, I’m going to take a (short) break from blogging until I can get out of my own head enough to say something nice. Best of luck with your own writing journey.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 28, 2013 in Process

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “If You Can’t Say Something Nice

  1. Janeal Falor

    June 7, 2013 at 12:06 pm

    Writing is hard. I mean, it’s fun and great, but it’s definitely a lot of work that wears on you and blogging definitely adds to that. I took a break myself from everything online recently and it was so nice to get away then come back feeling refreshed. I hope it does the same for you and the break is a good one with awesome writing/revising happening!

     
  2. Kelly Ehasz

    June 7, 2013 at 5:02 pm

    I’ve felt your introspection from afar. I was hoping (though fairly certain) it was all about writing, or rewriting as you call it. See you Monday. I have nothing new, but I’ve been researching, thinking and allowing the back of my brain to find its way.

     

Leave a Reply

 
