RSS

Another Voice

29 Apr

“I got another voice,” I tell Husband while plugging my laptop back in on the desk.

“What?” he asks.

“I got another voice,” I repeat. “Another character introduced herself to me. And she’s a tough one.”

“Oh, so you don’t mean a physical voice?” he asks, sounding relieved.

“No…but sort of,” I reply. I’m sure that didn’t help. He must think I’m nuts.

So far all of my characters for my longer stories have introduced themselves to me (I’ll share more about how this happens on Friday). I feel very lucky to discover characters this way, but I also want to know if anyone else is a little nuts like me. So, the prompt for this week is:

How do you get an idea for a new character? What do you do after you get the idea?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2013 in Character

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Another Voice

  1. alicebrook1502

    April 29, 2013 at 10:02 am

    With me, it usually starts with an image – the character and how they’re dressed, their costume and maybe some manerisms. Like a photo or a painting. Then the smell, somehow I know the scent of the image. That grows into a vignette, then I actively think about the plot (which is still my damn weak point) and why that particular image popped up in my mind

     
    • cocoanqueso

      April 29, 2013 at 11:30 am

      I love that your ideas start with an image and then a smell! And it makes me curios…Are you usually a visual person? Are describing how things look and smell your strengths in your writing? We all have our weaknesses (mine is emotional plot), but I think identifying it is the first step toward fixing it. I was given something in a children’s writing class that helps me with plot a great deal. It’s called the twelve points to plotting. I hope you can use it. Keep writing!

       
      • alicebrook1502

        April 29, 2013 at 12:15 pm

        Well, I think my strenghts are describing and conveying emotion and atmosphere. The problem with me is that the risks in the plot are usually too…weak, I guess. Editors have told me I need “more development plotwise,” so I think that’s way they meant

         

Leave a Reply

 
