RSS

Day Off

25 Mar

“Darn cat. It’s 6:26. I’m taking a day off. I’m not getting up early today,” I sit up in bed and whisper-yell to Cassi, my orange tabby scratching my door. In her brain, I’m sure the only reason I get up is to feed her. And I’m already a half hour late.

My brain, apparently, also knows it is time to get up. I feel the wheels start turning about my work-in-progress.

“I’m not getting up early today,” I repeat again, this time for myself. I dive back under the covers. I’m feeling burnt out from too many revisions and I need a day to just sleep.

Your solution is easy, something in my head whispers. Just go back to your old theme.

Whatever whispered is right. And it does seem simple. The day off is already doing me a lot of good.

I’ve only been working the early morning writing shift for two weeks and I love it. I also love (and respect people more after) hearing when and how others work. Then, this week’s question is:

What is your daily schedule like, writing and otherwise? What do you do when you need a day off?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 25, 2013 in Writing As A Priority

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Day Off

  1. Janeal Falor

    March 26, 2013 at 1:48 am

    I hate when I try to sleep in but someone (myself included) won’t let me. Bah. That’s great the morning schedule is working well for you though.

    I write mostly at night, or when the kids are napping in the afternoon. My goal is to write some everyday, but sometimes it doesn’t happen. Writing is hard. Schedules are harder. I try, but life happens and when it does, I go with the flow.

     
    • cocoanqueso

      March 27, 2013 at 8:28 am

      I think I jinxed myself with the post, because the morning schedule isn’t working so well this week! One night of bad sleep threw off Mister’s schedule and he’s waking up at 6:30. This is seriously cutting in to my work time. But, like you said, I’m trying to just go with the flow.

       

Leave a Reply

 
