RSS

Comfortable

20 Mar

“Do you want to wear this shirt?” I ask Mister, holding up his dinosaur shirt. “Aunt Katie got you this shirt.”

“No. I don’t like it,” he says.

“How about this one?” I show him one with blue and gray stripes.

“No. I don’t want that shirt,” he whines.

“This one, then?” It has a robot with googly eyes.

“No.” He’s flopping on the floor now.

“Then what do you want to wear?”

He stops his flopping and peeks in the drawer.

“This one.” He pulls out his Elmo shirt that is washed out, has paint on the front, and is too small. You know, the kind of shirt that makes my kid look like nobody loves him. But with terrible twos going on, I’m choosing my battles. Plus, we aren’t planning to leave the house today. Conceding, I help him pull it on.

I hope Mister won’t always be most comfortable in the thing I least want him to wear.

Sorry for the delayed new post. With Susanna Leonard Hill’s In Just Spring story contest going on, I wanted to leave that post up for as long as I could. I did not, by the way, get chosen as a finalist in the contest. It’s okay. The story wasn’t very good anyway, but I’m proud that I managed to make at least some of the story representative of me.

Like the story about Mister’s favorite shirt above, some things are just more comfortable than others. I’m more comfortable writing picture books that have spare text, no character’s (or characters’) names, and a touch of irony. It was lacking in a lot of other areas, but I think my spring story had all three of those things.

So the questions for this week deal with what makes you comfortable. I look forward to reading your answer in the comments!

What item do you own that is very “you?” What is very “you” about your writing?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 20, 2013 in Style

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Comfortable

  1. Kelly Ehasz

    March 20, 2013 at 9:33 am

    Item: An orange Dakota watch that clips/hangs on my belt loop. It needs a battery. That is also very me. That you’ve never seen it gives an indication of how long it has needed a battery.

    My writing: Almost everything I’ve written so far is concept-oriented. I’m always sneaking in things for kids to learn … I can’t seem to help it.

     
    • cocoanqueso

      March 20, 2013 at 1:46 pm

      What is you about the watch? The orange? That it isn’t a traditional wrist watch? Just curious. Needing a battery is a me thing, too! It stopped when we changed the clocks for daylight savings…and I still haven’t gotten one.

      I think you’re right on with your writing, but what you didn’t say was that you incorporate a concept without it feeling heavy. No kid will roll their eyes at our work because it feels like they’re learning. Your readers (and your own children and I) are so lucky to get to learn from you!

       
  2. Kelly Ehasz

    March 20, 2013 at 9:37 am

    PS – I pull three outfits from Anna’s closet and she must choose among them. That’s my rule. Of course, in true Anna fashion, she has been known to refuse all three and head to the closet on her own. And then my back up rule is that her choice has to be long sleeves (when it’s cold)!

     
    • cocoanqueso

      March 22, 2013 at 8:37 am

      I’ve started asking him what kind of fabric he wants to wear. It has helped. But sometimes he tells me “I don’t want to wear that shirt. I don’t want to wear any shirt!” He just doesn’t want to wear clothes. He even fights pajamas. I can’t wait until summer!

       
  3. Kelly Ehasz

    March 28, 2013 at 12:30 am

    Guess I forgot to click the “notify me” box below. Just seeing your posts/questions. About the watch: both – orange and not traditional.

    About the lovely compliments – thank you. And back at you … I do believe you’ve got it a bit wrong and that I am the lucky one to learn from you.

    About not wearing any clothes – well, for now. That could become a problem when he has to go to preschool/kindergarten!!!!!

    🙂

     
    • cocoanqueso

      March 28, 2013 at 8:51 am

      True about the clothing. I don’t know of any nudist schools in Pittsburgh. Ha!

       

Leave a Reply

 
