RSS

How Old

04 Mar

“Happy birthday, Aunt Katie. Happy birthday to you!” Mister sings and helps blow out the candles.

“How old am I?” Aunt Katie asks.

Mister struggles to hold up his fingers, but finally gets the number he wants. “Two,” he says firmly.

She may wish for youth, but not that much youth.

A little later he throws a fit because he can’t eat my ice cream and his ice cream. “How old are you?” I ask.

“Two,” he says again.

I can tell.

The next day, when I go to get him from his bed in the morning, he doesn’t want to get up.

“Its a complicated situation,” he tells me.

“How old are you?” I ask.

“Two,” he says.

Hard to believe.

Different ages, especially the very young ones, seem to come with certain behaviors, habits and attitudes. Sometimes they are very predictable. Other times, like in the case of Mister’s “complicated situation,” they are less so. That makes writing characters that are a certain age just a little tricky.

Last Monday’s post asked about the age of your characters, but I thought this topic deserves a post all its own. So, this week’s questions are:

How old are your characters? How did you determine their ages? Have you ever read something in which the character did not fit his or her age? If so, why didn’t they fit?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 4, 2013 in Character

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “How Old

  1. Janeal Falor

    March 4, 2013 at 5:36 pm

    Lol – complicated situation! Love when 2 year olds say cute things beyond their years.

    For me, my character’s ades usually are defined by the type of plot I through them into. What age they need to be to handle the situation. Haven’t changed an age of a character… yet.

     

Leave a Reply

 
