RSS

Of a Certain Age

25 Feb

“It happens to women ‘of a certain age,'” I used to hear my mother say, without any idea what it meant. I think I’ve finally figured it out.

When I see kids walking around without coats or hats even on nice days like today, I think “where is your mother?”

I only allow even myself dessert if I’ve eaten my veggies.

When I see kids going up the slide on the playground I look around for the adult in charge.

I add layers to Mister when I’M cold.

Oh no. It happened. I’ve reached the age of…MOTHER.

What age have you reached? What certain age is your writing? Your characters?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2013 in Character, Process

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Of a Certain Age

  1. salsanpeeps

    February 25, 2013 at 4:20 pm

    I think I turned into my mother also… I don’t know why I reached that conclusion recently, but I did.

     
    • cocoanqueso

      March 1, 2013 at 8:39 am

      I’m not sure I can reply to this without offending you or your mother (my mother-in-law) so I’m going to let this one go…

       

Leave a Reply

 
