RSS

Poor Me

08 Feb

Have you ever been around someone who complains about something that makes you think (sarcastically) “Oh, poor you?” Maybe someone says,

“I’m having such a hard time deciding how to invest my lottery winnings,”

“I lost so much weight. Now I have to go to the tailor and get all my pants taken in,”

or “My spouse is so good-looking. We can’t go anywhere without people staring at us.”

Poor them.

While writing is often wrought with real problems, it also has a lot of non-problems. Like the problems above, these things may feel challenging, but with a little perspective, it is easy to tell that they really aren’t so bad. They’re the things that writers complain about that leaves the listener thinking “and the problem is…?”

This week, I’m one of those writers complaining about non-problems. I went to the SCBWI conference in New York. I heard some amazing speakers, met some very creative illustrators, exchanged cards with some focused writers, and found some inspiration. That last one, as I shared in the last post, has left me with a bit of a problem. I have more motivation than I do time to work. Poor me, I know.

Renee said

You nailed the return to earth story that happens when mommy writers get a reprieve from their daily moorings.  The lack of gravity has given your writing some levity… Hug your baby, but don’t let go of what that spaceflight gave you either!

To help us all “hug our baby” (be thankful for what we have) while not letting go of what “that spaceflight” (inspiration) gave us, below is a list of non-problems and some links to provide a little perspective:

There are too many resources for writers.

Rachelle Burk’s website categorizes the resources and makes them easier to navigate: http://www.resourcesforchildrenswriters.com/

Inspiration is everywhere.

Kim Tomsic has a list of specific places to look if you need help opening your eyes: http://kimscritiquingcorner.blogspot.com/2013/01/thirteen-reasons-to-continue-to-pursue.html

Because of self-publishing, anyone can publish a book.

NPR’s All Things Considered talks about why this is a good thing: http://www.npr.org/2013/02/04/171103053/self-publishing-now-the-first-choice-for-some-writers

Writing rules are unwritten.

This means writers have almost complete freedom. But there are guidelines to writing well: http://learning.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/09/20/writing-rules-advice-from-the-new-york-times-on-writing-well/

Writing is lonely, solitary work.

But as such, gives us the power to look deep within ourselves without distractions: http://writeanything.wordpress.com/2010/03/31/lonely-life-of-a-writer/

Traditional publishing is too subjective.

That means to get published I have to find an editor and/or agent who loves and believes in my work as much as I do. http://www.fromthewriteangle.com/2012/11/subjective-is-not-dirty-word.html

Writing is hard work!

And so worth it: http://goinswriter.com/hard-work/

I’ll continue to face these writing challenges as long as I also get to enjoy the perks!

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 8, 2013 in Inspiration and Ideas

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
