RSS

Misaligned

04 Feb

It’s the day after the Society of Childrens Books Writers and Illustrators winter conference. I’m home, my bags are unpacked, and I’m back to casual jeans and a loose ponytail, but there’s no time to relax. I have a to-do list a mile long: compile a recommended reading list, connect with people I met via social media, prepare submissions, develop the story idea scribbled in the margins of my conference notes, and much more.

The thing is, and it is a good thing, Mister missed me. He’s got a to-do list too: play excuse me sir (where basically he’s a short-order cook who chucks food I didn’t order through his kitchen window at me), be served at our pretend restaurant, read every book on the shelf, create a fake lake in the living room, and definitely do not let Mom get anything done. Today, his to-do list gets first priority.

But paying attention to him is making me feel antsy. Misaligned. Like I have an itch I can’t scratch. But that might not be so bad.

Since…um…fall, maybe, I’ve been a little unmotivated. I didn’t feel like I had much new stuff to offer. I couldn’t bring myself to do revisions, which I’m not fond of even when I am motivated. I’m even behind on my reading list.

But now I’ve got this drive that goes beyond the time I have to work. New ideas are popping up again. And I’m even excited to revise. I’ll take the incurable itch if it means wanting to write. It is a problem that might turn out to be a good thing.

When have you had a problem that actually turned out to be a good thing?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 4, 2013 in Writing As A Priority

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Misaligned

  1. Renee

    February 6, 2013 at 1:50 am

    Awesome succinct post. You nailed the return to earth story that happens when mommy writers get a reprieve from their daily moorings. The lack of gravity has given your writing some levity… Hug your baby, but dont let go of what that spaceflight gave you either!

     

Leave a Reply

 
