RSS

A Monkey Could Do It

16 Jan

Mister turns on the TV and settles in for his favorite show, Curious George. I open up my laptop and settle in to my desk chair, hoping that George is entertaining enough today to let me get a little work done.

Before I know it, I’m turned around in my seat watching George too. You see, not only is George entertaining today. He is applicable. The Man With the Big Yellow Hat (that is all he’s ever called) wrote a 1400-page book on some endangered bird and the book isn’t selling well. Copies are filling up his apartment. So, he goes to the aviary and the book store trying to get them to sell his book. Meanwhile, George tries to figure out how he can get the books out of his bathtub. With help from a lemonade-selling friend, he decides he needs a sign, and paints a huge billboard above his building advertising the book. The billboard eventually gets news coverage and the news coverage lands The Man’s book in stores.

While I’m sure Mister learned something different from this show, the lesson I came away with is that marketing is so easy a monkey can do it. So why can’t I?

Have you ever created a marketing plan? If so, what part of it were you most proud of? What book marketing have you seen and admired?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 16, 2013 in Marketing

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “A Monkey Could Do It

  1. Salsanpeeps

    January 16, 2013 at 9:43 pm

    I’m afraid a marketing company would tell you to go out and hire a new spokesmonkey…

     

Leave a Reply

 
