RSS

Make Sured

21 Dec

None of us, not even us writers (I was the one who thought “invisible touch, hey” was “busy bone touch shake”) get all of the words right all of the time. And that’s okay because…

neither do kids.

What I love about this topic, more than that it is just fun to think about, is that it reminds me to really listen. Those misquoted lyrics, or the way Mister makes mistakes with language, are full of story ideas.

When he was younger, Mister used to say, “coffEE mAKEr” with emPHAsis on the wrong syllABLE. I think this would make a great character trait in a longer story.

Last weekend, we went to a fan event for the Pittsburgh Pirates called “Piratefest.” Mister thought I was saying “Pirate fish.” I can only imagine where he thought I was taking him. I think a pirate/fish sounds like a good idea for a main character.

Just today, Mister finished eating lunch and I told him to make sure his belly was full before he got down from his chair.

“I make sured,” he said. Super cute. And possibly a story about words breaking language rules.

I’d like to keep this fun topic going, so, please vote on the poll on Monday’s post to choose your favorite misquoted lyrics shared on Monday.

And here’s a challenge. Do you know the actual lyrics to the misquoted lyrics below (list from http://st-james.hubpages.com/hub/Misquoted-Lyrics)? Share them in the comments!

Misquoted Lyrics:

AC/DC- “Dirty Deeds and the Thunder Chief”

Queen- Bohemian Rhapsody- “Scallaboosh, Scallaboosh, will you do the banned tango…”

Canadian National Anthem- Oh Canada- “Oh Canada, we stand on cars and freeze…”

R.E.M.- Losing My Religion- “Let’s pee in the corner, Let’s pee in the spotlight.”

Billy Ray Cyrus- Achy Breaky Heart- “Don’t break my heart,my eggy bready heart.”

Lady Ga Ga- “My My My Mom Broke Her Face… My Mom Broke Her Face”

Other Links:

List of other misquoted song lyrics: http://americantruthmachine.wordpress.com/2011/02/22/misquoted-song-lyrics/

Misquoted Bible verses: http://crunchyurbanite.com/2011/07/04/misquoted-verses-the-bible-doesnt-say-that/

Misquoted movie lines: http://www.totalfilm.com/features/the-20-most-misquoted-movie-lines

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 21, 2012 in Inspiration and Ideas

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
