RSS

Jolt

17 Dec

Sorry about the late post. I didn’t feel comfortable writing about warm fuzzies on Friday. Now that the initial shock of the events in Connecticut have worn off, I think warm fuzzies might be what a lot of people need.

Luckily for those of us who need something positive to think about, books can be a great place to find distraction. Have you ever watched someone else watching TV? If you have, you’ve probably seen the glassy eyeballs, blank stares, and expressionless faces that, especially for children, make up a TV face. I’m the same way when I read. I can completely zone into what I’m reading. That means I can block out whatever else is going on around me. And it takes a pretty good jolt to get me out of it. I’d bet I’m not alone in that either.

Reading can also help someone process something or experience emotions through someone else. I think that is part of the reason why there are so many books dealing with so many different topics. From potty training to divorce or even death, there are books for us to read to help us figure out how to navigate a new situation or feeling.

Writing has the same effect. I’ve written through feelings of jealousy, sadness, defeat, joy, and embarrassment. But, got through them through my character. And sometimes they were feelings I didn’t even know I had until I wrote them.

So, if you are in need of some good feelings, pick up a book, pass one on to someone else (it is a great time for that  anyway), or write through your feelings (in fiction, a letter, a journal or whatever format suits you). Please also share some good-feeling book recommendations in the comments.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 17, 2012 in Other Stuff, Reading

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
