RSS

Bonus

25 Nov

Michael Ian Black (Chicken Cheeks) is one funny guy. Bernadette Rosetti Shustak (I Love You Through and Through) is super sweet. Dr. Seuss (specific title not necessary) was maybe a little crazy.

Is this true? I don’t know. But it is what the writing of these authors makes me think of them. So what does my writing say about me?

On my facebook page, author Terri Rowe said:

My favorite book when I was a child-well one of my many favorite books-was Ezra Jack Keats “Snowy Day.” I always figured he must have remembered what it was like to be a kid and I have always tried to keep that in mind-my first experiences of moments from when I was a child. I hope that comes across in what I write.

I agree with Terri. What I assume the writers of my favorite books must be like is exactly how I want to seem through my writing. Funny. Sweet. And maybe even (like Dr. Seuss, though he’s not one of favorites–gasp) a little crazy. Why? Because kids are those things.

And there’s more. Writing and reading also bring out the deepest, darkest secrets in a person. That doesn’t mean that Suzanne Collins (Hunger Games) is secretly someone who wishes to see children fight to the death, but maybe she or a reader has felt like they had to defend a set of beliefs despite some serious obstacles (sound like high school to anyone?). Or that a person who reads Harry Potter is a closet sorcerer, but maybe they are looking to find a place to belong. My writing brings out what I’ve ever dreamed, feared, experienced, imagined, felt, or suppressed. And when I read and identify with a character and go on a journey, I experience a smaller degree of the same thing. Sometimes it shows me things I am, wish I could be, or am scared of becoming. And I think we all need this type of exploration too.

I want readers to do what Terri did. To take what they thought of a book or how it made them feel and apply it to their own lives. If I get to seem funny in the process, well, what a bonus.

Other Links:

What does your handwriting say about you? http://www.realsimple.com/work-life/life-strategies/handwriting-101-00000000015886/index.html

Do you think it is fair to be judged by your writing? http://andreajwenger.com/2010/08/11/what-does-your-writing-say-about-you/

What does your writing utensil say about you?http://community.sparknotes.com/2012/09/12/what-your-writing-utensil-says-about-you

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 25, 2012 in Reading

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
