RSS

Salsa. Seriously.

17 Sep

“…the more we get together, the happier we’ll be.” The final song finishes and I’m so proud of Mister. He made it through toddler story time. Sitting. The whole time.

One of the storytellers brings out a bin of toys and Mister runs to play. He chooses a mailbox that sings and slides it off to the side. The mailbox catches the eye of a girl at least a year older than Mister. The girl’s mother pauses her conversation, about salsa of all things, long enough to help the little girl slide off her lap.

“Now, Mister, you have to share,” I prompt my son. We’re working on it, but he’s not even two and the concept of considering another’s feelings isn’t sinking in.

They play beside each other for a minute. Until he finds that the mailbox is made for stuffing things inside. He grabs all of the plastic “mail” and starts stuffing it in the mail slot. The little girl retreats to her mother.

“Ugh,” the other salsa lady sighs.

“Give her some mail too, please,” I tell him. He hesitates, but hands it over.

“Anyway…yeah I can make some salsa to bring,” the other lady gets back on topic. Still. Seriously?

The little girl fills the mailbox and Mister pounces on the abandoned mail, boxing out the little girl. She goes back to her base.

“Move over here please,” I tell Mister, “so she can play too.”

“Well, yeah. She can’t get to it to play,” the other lady says.

I don’t tell her that Mister isn’t as old as he looks. Or that I’m trying to let him practice playing with other kids without interfering too much. Or that her daughter, who is currently stealing a stuffed frog from another child, is annoying. I bite my tongue. I don’t like this co-parenting thing.

How do you find the co-writing thing? What have you learned about the writing community?

I’m trying not to give too much away, but this is a big week for me in the writing community. My query is part of the Gearing Up To Get An Agent Pitch Contest here. And I was interviewed by Bethany Hensel for her lovely website here. I’d love it if you could check them out!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 17, 2012 in Inspiration and Ideas

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Salsa. Seriously.

  1. mary

    September 17, 2012 at 11:47 am

    I think people should have to donate to animal rescue $.25/word they utter in the dog park. $.50/word if it is thoughtless, stupid, or without consideration for what is/is not safe, normal dog behavior. For example:
    “Stop your dog from sniffing my dog’s butt”
    How else are dogs supposed to greet each other? A firm handshake? A kiss on each cheek ala the French? A fist bump?

    “your dog just drooled on/knocked over/ran into/ran past my dog. aren’t you going to DO anything about it?”

    “Come here. I said come HERE. come here NOW!” “Stop running around and come HERE”

    “5 more minutes. You can have 5 more minutes”

    And my personal favorite (this, from a woman who backed my really well behaved dog into a corner and was SCREAMING at her for reasons unknown): “If this were my dog, I’d put her down. She is fearful and fearful dogs bite.”

    Maybe parents should have to donate to a child advocacy group $.25/word uttered at playgrounds, storytimes, public pools etc. $.50 if it takes the form of unsolicited advice. As a calming mechanism, count their words and tally up their “donation”.

     
    • cocoanqueso

      September 17, 2012 at 1:13 pm

      Wow the pet park sounds just like the playground. Thankfully, nobody has told me to put down Mister. Yet.
      I think training Roxy to fist bump would be pretty cool. Why don’t you start working on that?
      Just kidding. Your idea about the fines for stupid comments made by pet owners/parents is great, though. I think you should tell Animal Friends. It can be the next big fundraiser.
      And I’m totally going to use counting words as a calming mechanism. We’re going to our first community playgroup on Wednesday. I’m sure I’ll be counting A LOT.
      Thanks for the comment!

       
  2. mary

    September 17, 2012 at 3:18 pm

    Training Roxy to fist bump WOULD be cool. And far less startling than her current greeting (a variation on the wet willie.) That’s right, boys and girls, my dog sticks her tongue in people’s ears. Shudder.

    That’s some big week you are having: an interview, pitch contest, becoming an auntie again…

     
    • cocoanqueso

      September 17, 2012 at 5:28 pm

      It is a big week. Hooray for a new niece! I hope she doesn’t give wet willies.

       
  3. salsanpeeps

    September 19, 2012 at 5:10 pm

    My only co-writing experience came in college. The highest grade went to the group leader and then everyone else had points deducted from there. Without any exaggeration, I scored a -27% on that. The highest grade, our group leader, got a 16% and everyone else weas in negative numbers. It was terrible. There was no flow, very little insight. It was just awful. It’s hard to incorporate someone else’s vision and make it your own.

    Anyway… CONGRATULATIONS ON MAKING IT TO ROUND 2 of GUTGAA!

     

Leave a Reply

 
