RSS

A Glimpse

07 Sep
The GUTGAA meet and greet has been great! Many authors have stoped by to say hello and I’ve visited other blogs I might not have known about otherwise. I’ve learned a lot about other people’s work habits. Like that Jeannette gets up at 5:15am to write before her kids stir, which I’m pretty sure is a glimpse into my future. I’ve learned a lot about other writer-parents too. Like S.T. Lakata who is expeciting a baby, so he’s trying to get as much written as he can and also has a flexible attitude about his writing schedule after the baby arrives.
I’ve read blogs by some writers with awesome senses of humor and thought “I’d read their fiction.” I hope some writers have found me that feel the same. I’ve also read some others that are great too, but just not my style. I guess that is why there are so many different kinds of writers in so many different kinds of genres with so many different ideas. Regardless, it has been a lot of fun.
Here are some of my other favorite answers from the meet and greet:
-Where do you write?
I write first in my head, and I scrawl out my ideas into a notebook – a nice one from the Barnes and Noble journal aisle. Then, I sit on front of my computer in my work-from-home office and type it all out into a word doc. by Amber Plante at http://amberplante.blogspot.com/
-Quick. Go to your writing space, sit down and look to your left. What is the first thing you see?
 Toilet paper holder?… Ew. Just kidding. Kind of… by Katie Mills at http://creepyquerygirl.blogspot.com/
-Favorite time to write?
I like to write in daylight, I don’t really care when. At night, I pretty much like to turn off and be a complete sloth. But facing different deadlines at various times in my life, I’ve learned that preference is only that–preference. You can do an awful lot of writing when you’re “too tired and don’t really feel like it”. by Seana Graham at http://seana-storydump.blogspot.com/
-Drink of choice while writing?
I try not to bring anything liquid near my laptop because I’m sort of a klutz when  I’m writing. After one near disaster with a cup of
coffee, I learned my lesson. by Sara Riouch at http://inkandwriting.blogspot.com/2012/09/meet-and-greet-for-gutgaa.html
-When writing , do you listen to music or do you need complete silence?
It’s like a limb is missing if I don’t have music on. by Trisha at http://thefarseas.blogspot.com/
-What’s your most valuable writing tip?
If you haven’t felt like quitting, your dreams aren’t big enough. by Laura M. Kolar at http://readwriterockingchair.blogspot.com/
Thanks fellow Gutgaans! I look forward to meeting more of you (us) in the coming weeks!
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 7, 2012 in Inspiration and Ideas

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
