RSS

Backwards

24 Aug

Lately, my writing feels like it is taking baby steps toward publication. Sometimes it even feels like baby steps backwards. I’m revising my middle grade project. Again. I’m waiting for a response from a publisher on a picture book. I’m taking notes on a contemporary YA. I’m beginning a new, possibly adult nonfiction, project. Things are moving slowly. I’m trying to push forward by keeping my eye on my goals: publication, putting my words out there, being an example for my son.

But even when it doesn’t feel like my writing is going anywhere, I know it still is moving forward. That’s one of my favorite things about writing. Even when I’m not producing a lot, or cutting things I wrote previously, other things are brewing in my brain. All I have to do is give them the opportunity to come out. That’s where a daily practice comes in.

Baby steps are practice. Cutting, revising, note-taking, brainstorming…any of the things that mean I’m putting time aside to work on my writing is practice. I’ve learned that the practice itself doesn’t have to be perfect. My practice isn’t scheduled anymore. It is squeezed in, sometimes for only a few minutes at a time. But it is often just enough time to encourage the work going on in my brain.

I’m going to keep taking my baby steps, even backwards, because baby steps are practice. And practice makes publication.

 

Other posts about writing practice:

http://www.linkedin.com/groupItem?view=&gid=67346&type=member&item=140222964&qid=2d3ca141-d3e1-4568-bdbf-df43e391c6a6&trk=group_items_see_more-0-b-ttl

http://www.dailywriting.net/zen.htm

http://daily-writing.blogspot.com/

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 24, 2012 in Publishing

 

2 responses to “Backwards

  1. Donna Martin

    August 25, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    Greetings!

    I am hopping over from GUTGAA and started visiting some blogs before the fun begins. Nice to meet you…you have a lovely blog!

    Donna L Martin
    http://www.donnalmartin.com
    http://www.donasdays.blogspot.com

     
    • cocoanqueso

      August 25, 2012 at 9:49 pm

      Thanks, Donna. I’m glad you stopped by. I also checked out your blog. Ilike your succinct style. The website is also looking great. Keep up the good work. I’m so glad to be a part of GUTGAA (Gearing Up To Get An Agent) and I’m looking forward to meeting more talented writers like you.

       

Leave a Reply

 
