RSS

Revelation

23 Jul

I curl up in front of my laptop on the window seat and chuckle to myself about how things have changed. I used to handwrite everything. The slow pace seemed to give me time to think about each word. Now I don’t have time for slow.

Mister’s been out for twenty minutes. That means I probably have twenty minutes left to write before he wakes up. These days, twenty minutes is a writing time jackpot. My fingers type furiously. When I pause to come up with a humorous simile, I let the cursor blink only a few times before I add “(insert something funny)” and keep typing.

Blanks and notes in parenthesis would have terrified me before. Even in a first draft. Now they take off some of the pressure of coming up with something perfect on the first try. Those blanks give me room to let an idea marinate. And, like those comebacks that pop into my mind after a confrontation, what I come up with later is better than what I would’ve done on the spot.

What a revelation. I think I’m growing as a writer.

What revelation have you had about your writing habits? What brought on this discovery? How have your writing habits changed?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 23, 2012 in Writing As A Priority

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Revelation

  1. CarolynHowardJohnson (@FrugalBookPromo)

    July 25, 2012 at 5:13 pm

    We just connected on Twitter and I thought I’d get better acquainted. Yes, I remember those days of yellow pads and cramped hands. (-: I still use that method if I’m feeling a bit blocked. Usually, though, just putting bottom in chair in front of computer does the trick. (-:

    Best,

    Carolyn Howard-Johnson
    Excited about the new edition (expanded! updated! even more helpful for writers!) of The Frugal Book Promoter, now a USA Book News award-winner in its own right (www.budurl.com/FrugalBkPromo)

     
    • cocoanqueso

      July 25, 2012 at 8:17 pm

      Thanks, Carolyn, for sharing a little more about yourself and your book (it has five stars on amazon, people). You’re right about putting the bottom in the chair, whether it is in front of a computer or legal pad. Putting the time in and making writing a priority makes a big difference in what I write, too. Thanks again!

       

Leave a Reply

 
