RSS

Wild Ride

13 Jul

Though I swear the bugs were on steroids and the drive was way more out-of-the-way than the directions predicted, the Inn and the wedding were, just as writing usually is, worth the journey.

While I’ve almost always written, I didn’t always know I wanted to be “a writer,” so that in itself is a journey from the expected. Now that I have (I think) chosen becoming a writer as my destination, I’m learning that there are still lots of surprises in store.

In college classes, I took notebooks and pencils to class. It’s because I often wrote little excerpts or stories in the margins of my notebooks. I couldn’t sneak in stories so well on my laptop without seeming to be an uber nerd.  One day, a character’s voice came out so clearly though my scribbles that I tore out the page, notes and all, and saved it. I stored it for years, because, though I didn’t quite know how or why yet, I knew it was important. It has since become the prologue for my chapter book series.

Not long after I started writing seriously, I found Gail Carson Levine’s book Writing Magic. Using her writing exercises, I set out to write a picture book about someone who had a secret. Instead, I found myself in a chapter book full of narrative with very little action or dialogue. Writing that story wasn’t what I expected. And the story was awful. I suppose it should have made me question my decision to write, but luckily it didn’t. Instead I learned from it and stashed it in a secret folder in the bottom of my writing stuff. Writing that story showed me how to (and how not to) craft a plot.

My latest surprise? I think I want to write a book for young adults. Hold on, it is going to be a wild ride.

Other links about the writing journey:

http://welshjensblog.blogspot.com/2012/03/do-you-have-what-it-takes-to-write.html

http://www.makealivingwriting.com/2010/12/29/writing-journey-evans-comment-mmorg-combine-posts/

http://www.hownottowrite.com/big-huge-book-reviews/the-writers-journey-by-christopher-vogler/

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 13, 2012 in Why Write?

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
