RSS

Renowned Rejections

08 Jun

I have 9 paper rejection letters, 8 e-jects, and 7 no responses. That’s 24 rejections.

As I said in the last post, I got two of those rejection letters last week. It was discouraging. I did my research. I followed submission guidelines, addressed the letter to a specific editor, checked the publisher’s previous publications, and held on to each piece for over a year to polish and revise. If they were any good, they should have been accepted. So is it time to throw in the towel? How many rejection letters do I have to get before I do?

Mary says

A bazillion.  Before any towels are thrown in, the writer should make a book of rejection letters and solicit contributions from others.

That book idea is a great one. If it has been done before, I haven’t seen it.

I also agree with Mary’s quantity. It will take a bazillion, kajillion, dodecazillion rejection letters before I give up.

It isn’t that I believe in my writing that much. I mean, I think each piece is worth something or I wouldn’t keep doing it, but I’m not so confident that each rejection doesn’t affect me. They do. So why keep going?

I’m a little selfish. I learn a lot each time I pick up a pencil. And now I’m learning about marketing and technology as well as I try to build a following. I’ve always valued learning and I find fulfillment in it. I even learn from the rejections. As long as I keep learning and growing, I won’t give up on writing and pursuing publication.

Check out other authors who kept going! Here are some links to rejections of famous works:

http://www.writersrelief.com/blog/2011/07/famous-author-rejection-letters/

http://www.writersservices.com/mag/m_rejection.htm

http://susiesmith13.tripod.com/id12.html

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 8, 2012 in Other Stuff, Publishing

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “Renowned Rejections

  1. salsanpeeps

    June 8, 2012 at 8:18 am

    I feel like you’d agree with this one (particularly about the part about too many long speeches):

    “Before Ayn Rand became known as an intellectual and her books as classics, she had to get past this from one publisher: “It is badly written and the hero is unsympathetic.” And this from another: “I wish there were an audience for a book of this kind. But there isn’t. It won’t sell.” So much for “The Fountainhead.”

    Fourteen years later she was sending “Atlas Shrugged” on its publishing rounds and reading in the return mail: “… the book is much too long. There are too many long speeches… I regret to say that the book is unsaleable and unpublishable.”

     
  2. salsanpeeps

    June 8, 2012 at 8:21 am

     
  3. Renee

    June 8, 2012 at 11:00 am

    I sat next to Katherine Ryan Hyde at a writers conference shortly after her book Pay It Forward was made into that Jodie Foster movie. KRH said she had 15,000 rejections for that book alone. 15K certainly feels like 15 kajillion to me… but that’s the writer’s life. The ones who keep doggin’ it prevail. -Back to it, Renee

     
    • cocoanqueso

      June 12, 2012 at 1:06 pm

      15K! 15K? Oh my gosh. I’m so glad she kept going. What a beautiful story. I think writer’s do accept (as much as any one can) adversity as part of “the life,” but I don’t know that anyone expects this much.
      What about you? Where are you in your writing journey?

       

Leave a Reply

 
