RSS

Fan-freaking-tastic

01 Jun

The favorite comment this week was from tapsaac:

At this point, my participles are dangling 😦

If by participles you mean saddle bags or what used to be my triceps or my midsection, I’m with you. After having a child, lot of parts of me are dangling. So why not make light of it and use those parts for writing inspiration?

There are a lot of really great grammatical terms and muscles to be used for this fun exercise.

This PDF has the muscle names: http://lionden.com/documents/Muscle-name-table-KPatton.pdf

While this website has a dictionary of grammatical terms: http://www.usingenglish.com/glossary.html

Using these resources, here’s what I came up with:

I would change biceps to comparatives, especially in men, since they are often the measure they use to compare one another.

I would call my backside a question mark because it is what I look like from the waist down and it often decides what pre-kid clothes I can still wear.

Metaplasm, a grammatical term for changing a word, should be a muscle. In the face I think.

Tmesis is fan-freaking-tastic (or the word that defines “words” like this) and should be what the intercostal muscles between the ribs should be called.

The muscles in my fingers would be calles phonemes since lots of little muscles work together to make my fingers work just as lots of little sounds, or phonemes, work together to make our language.

I would call my brain (not a muscle, I know) my synecdoche because a synecdoche is a word that refers to a part of something but means the whole and my brain is the part of me that controls the whole.

 

Thinking about the other words kids confuse (spaghetti, cinnamon, etc.) I think interchanging these terms is something a child would do. So, this exercise created a lot of word usage patterns I might give to a character. My synecdoche (brain) can find inspiration in the strangest places.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 1, 2012 in Word Choice

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
