RSS

My Adverbs are Sore

29 May

“Man, this is really working out my transitions,” Husband says with our thirty pound giant baby on his shoulders.

“Your what?”

“My transitions. I’ve decided since I don’t know what my muscles are called, I’m going to use grammatical terms instead. Like, ‘my adverbs are sore today.'” He pats his tummy.

“Or your verbs are getting a little tense,” I add. “Get it? Tense?”

“I get it,” Husband says, rolling his eyes.

“I’m funny,” I remind him. I’m not sure he agrees.

Prepare to get silly.

What grammatical term would you give to one of your muscles?

OR

What muscle name would you use for a grammatical term?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 29, 2012 in Word Choice

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “My Adverbs are Sore

  1. Katie Koenig

    May 29, 2012 at 6:21 pm

    I would call my gulteus maximus my “assimilation”.

    And congratulations…You have officially become your mother.

     
  2. tapsaac

    May 30, 2012 at 12:37 pm

    To reiterate my facebook post, at this point, my participles are dangling.

     

Leave a Reply

 
