RSS

Happy Mudder

14 May

I’m just about to take a shower when I hear Mister. It’s 10 pm. He went to bed at 8:30, so there’s no reason for him to be awake. But he is. Awake that is. And screaming his lungs out.

I hear Husband go in to get him so I wait. The screaming doesn’t stop. Deciding the shower will have to wait, I go to get him.

Nothing we do helps to stop his screams. Not rocking or singing or water or food. Nothing. He screams from 10 until almost midnight when he gives in and finally goes back to sleep. But not for long. He’s up again at 3:30. And 4:30.

So when Mister wishes me a “Happy Mudder” in the morning, I’m less than happy. Oh well. He sure does provide me with lots of other reasons to be happy. Even if they aren’t on this Mother’s Day.

Happy Mudder’s Day to all of the other mothers out there.

What makes you a happy writer?

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 14, 2012 in Why Write?

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “Happy Mudder

  1. mary

    May 14, 2012 at 10:56 am

    First, the screaming apple doesn’t fall far from the tree. Husband (or, as I prefer to call him, Brother) had night terrors starting at around age 2. He also talked in his sleep but not like Venerable Oldest Sister, who would say nonsensical things like “Judee, did you get the broomsticks?” No, Brother would seek nocturnal, subconscious justice for various offenses, both real and imaginary. “No, LEL-en, I will NOT share and you CAN’T make me. GIVE.IT.BACK!!!!!!” Brother’s night screaming stopped once he learned to (?)/routinely fell into his toy box at night. So there is hope. If, of course, you have a toy box.

    Second, breaking out my buffet of grammarian’s parlor tricks makes me insanely happy. Thanks to Sister Norbert (may she rest in peace) I can recite the various forms of the infinitive verb “to be” and can sing a song of prepositional phrases. I can parse a sentence in my head. I know the difference between a semi-colon and a colon. I’m getting giddy just thinking about it!

    Happy belated Mother’s Day. And when Screamin’ Baby wakes up in the middle of the night, sing this little ditty to him: aboard, about, above, across, after, against, along, amid, among, around, as, at, before, behind, below, beneath…

     
    • cocoanqueso

      May 14, 2012 at 12:22 pm

      Thanks for the story about Husband (or Brother to you). He sometimes still talks in his sleep and it is mostly about work. If your song doesn’t work, Husband has found that Simon and Garfunkel’s Only Living Boy in New York does the trick.

       
  2. mary

    May 14, 2012 at 10:57 am

    and then encourage him to sleep in his toy box!

     
  3. Ellen Arnstein (@Lenni825)

    May 14, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    Happy readers make me a happy writer. Also having the time to write and when I feel I have constructed a particularly witty play on words. And yes, I was unfairly maligned for many a dream toy stealing.

     
  4. unpackedwriter

    June 4, 2012 at 1:59 pm

    Oh, I remember those days. Just wait till he’s a teen and keeps you up with sreamin’ music! Thanks for finding my blog and let’s stay in touch! I love the clarity with which you write these moments! – Renee

     
    • cocoanqueso

      June 5, 2012 at 2:43 pm

      I don’t want to think about him as a teen! Thanks for the perspective, though. I admire your writing voice, so I’ll surely visit your blog again. There’s a lot I can learn from you!

       
      • unpackedwriter

        June 5, 2012 at 2:49 pm

        Thank you. I like your clean, fresh perspective. Good work! – Renee

         

Leave a Reply

 
