RSS

If You Build a Flawed Character, Readers Will Come

04 May

Being a little vain, as I described in the last post, is just one of Mister’s flaws. He also gets frustrated and asks for help with things he could do himself, hits when he gets angry, and doesn’t sleep well. Sometimes these flaws, especially the hitting and the not sleeping, really bug me. Most of the time, though, I can accept them as part of what makes Mister a real person. And don’t even get me started on Husband. Lately he’s been walking around whispering, “If you build it, he will come.” I know it is baseball season, but come on. It is probably not his tragic flaw, but it is a flaw none the less.

Characters are the same way. Without flaws, they aren’t believable. Unbelievable characters cause readers to become skeptical of the whole story. This skepticism doesn’t allow the reader to invest in the story, which means they’re probably no longer a reader. To add to Husband’s quote, if you build a flawed character, provided the rest of your story is also sound, readers will come.

These days, writers have to take flaws a step further. Publishers report to have seen to many cliched flaws like the damsel in distress or the handsome price who is also a snob. I’m not talking about resume flaws, either. Like “I’m a perfectionist” or “I work too hard.” While those are flaws, it is doubtful that they’re going to lead to a black moment for the character when things seem like they can’t get any worse.

Here is a list of some popular characters and they’re flaws from Wikipedia:

Literature

Film

As for my characters, my middle grade character is socially unaware and often does things that get her into trouble without realizing. While it is sometimes harder to really develop a flaw in a picture book, the whole story in I’M NOT AFRAID OF ANYTHING is the character’s flaw, which is being afraid of the bathtub drain. I’m just developing a new character who is lacking self-awareness.

When I have an idea for a new book or new character, the first thing I do is complete a character sketch. My character sketch has been “borrowed” from a lot of resources including Gail Carson Levine’s WRITING MAGIC and Cheryl Klein’s SECOND SIGHT. It has things like what is in the character’s backpack or purse, the character’s matter of speaking, and what the character loves and hates. Some of the most important parts of the sketch, the parts I almost always do first, are what attributes the character has that will enable him or her to solve his or her own problems and the flaws that will lead to the climax.

Flaws are everywhere, so it shouldn’t be too hard to find inspiration. I like to start in the mirror.

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 4, 2012 in Character

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
