RSS

Whispering

20 Apr

This week’s question was inspired by Mister’s sometimes unclear communication and E.B. White’s quote, “All that I hope to say in books, all that I ever hope to say, is that I love the world.”

I hope my books say a lot of things. Here are some of them:

“take the time to laugh”

“reading is fun”

“childhood is about exploration”

“it is okay to ask questions because they help us learn”

“everyone is special”

What my book says to the world is sometimes called the theme or moral.

These days, publishers, probably based on readers, don’t want stories in which the theme or moral is stated outright. So how do I make sure my message comes through? I don’t. No matter what I hope to say, my books will still have an underlying message that each reader will decipher. And it may be different based on each person’s experiences.

Husband loves Ayn Rand’s FOUNTAINHEAD. My experiences led me to have a different experience with the work. Mister loves the books that come with the Chuck the Truck toys. As a writer, I don’t enjoy them. I love Junie B. Jones. When I was teaching, lots of my fellow educators had a problem with her grammar. See? What a book says to us depends on what we bring to it.

And what I intend to say may not be what my book says at all. In one of my drafts of book four in my TOMBOY RULES series, my main character was using meanness to solve a problem. I didn’t intend to write this way. What I took as humor, my readers (critiquers) took as hostility. I’m a writer with imperfections. Lots of them. And that means that, even with the best of intentions, things don’t turn out as I hoped.

All I can hope is to do is my best to write with my heart and include things that readers can identify with. I guess all I hope that my books will say to the world is what is whispering deep inside of each of my readers.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 20, 2012 in Reading

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
