RSS

Muck!

09 Apr

We’re 45 minutes in to Easter mass and just over half way through. Mister, however, is done. I know because he keeps alternating between saying “down” and “done.” I reposition him on my lap and try to listen to the sermon.

“Muck! Muck!” Mister screams.

The people behind us chuckle. I can imagine what they’re thinking.

When I repositioned Mister, I clamped his legs between mine. He’s not happy. And worse, he’s stuck. I love the book, but because of Phillis Root’s ONE DUCK STUCK, whenever Mister is stuck somewhere, he yells, “Muck!”

I usually follow it with “Help, help! Who can help?” just like the story. And he answers…we have a whole routine.

If the listener is familiar with the story, they’ll probably be amazed at how smart he is for his just 17 months. If, like most people, the person hearing Mister’s shouts isn’t familiar with the book, though, I’m sure they’ll think he’s learned a swear word. I’ve started sticking the book in the diaper bag when we go out.

What humor has a book brought to your life?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2012 in Reading

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Muck!

  1. Christine Kondrot

    April 30, 2012 at 11:37 am

    Beth,

    You write so well! I could have used you in my Imaginative writing class at BHS! I loved reading about the mawows and muck. Your blog helped to brighten my day!

     
    • cocoanqueso

      April 30, 2012 at 2:58 pm

      Your comment made my day! It took me a long time to realize I want to write. I wish I had known in time to take your creative writing class! I have so much still to learn, but the process is mostly fun. I’m glad you enjoyed my blog today. If you like mawows and muck, you’ll love next week’s post. Let’s just say it will give you a new way of looking at my husband!

       

Leave a Reply

