RSS

Big Break

30 Mar

My first book has just been released. It is an ebook with the digital publisher MeeGenius. It has given me a new answer to the “Are you published?” question at parties.

Before I had a baby, I dreamed of lazy days spent writing while he or she played quietly at my feet.

Before I was published, I used to think that once I got one book out there, I’d have “my big break” and all of my other stuff would be easy to publish too.

So far, neither of those are true for me. I think it is proof of “the grass is always greener” thing.

I now know that parenting is a lot of work. I go to bed each night more tired than I’ve ever been in my life. And I know that in the morning I have to wake up and do it all again. It has a lot of rewards, but it is very hard.

And now I realize that being published is just the beginning. Or at least I hope it is. I now have to find ways to market my new ebook. I have to keep submitting other books to agents and publishers. I have to rewrite and rewrite just like before. Most importantly, I have to keep writing new things.

So, while I’M NOT AFRAID OF ANYTHING being sold is very exciting, it reminds me of all the work I still have to do. It shows me that publication isn’t my end goal like I once thought it was. And it makes me want to write more.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2012 in Publishing

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Big Break

  1. LaoWai LiSha

    March 31, 2012 at 9:58 pm

    Congratulations on your accomplishment!!! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
