RSS

Monster

20 Feb

Mister clicks on the TV. Elmo time. While he’s watching, I steal a few minutes to design some promotional materials for my MeeGenius book. I’m copying and pasting the MeeGenius logo then the cover art when the images capture Mister’s attention.

“Monster,” he says and wanders over.

“There are two monsters,” I explain. “This is Mommy’s book.”

“Book,” he says and nods. “Up.”

I scoop Mister up and together we read the book. My book. Forget Elmo.

My goal is still to be a published children’s writer before Mister can read. This book made me want that more than ever. And it made me feel like I can do it. Right now I’m sitting in sixth place. That might be where I finish, which means there is no guarantee of publication, but the contest still gave me the boost I need to keep going. My question for this week is what has given your writing a much-needed boost?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 20, 2012 in Inspiration and Ideas

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Monster

  1. Kelly Ehasz

    February 21, 2012 at 11:55 pm

    You.

     
  2. Kelly Ehasz

    February 21, 2012 at 11:58 pm

    Oh, wait. You said “what” not “who.” Um. A good second place is “reading one of my stories to my son’s class … and hearing from two of the kids’ moms that their sons had been talking about it for two days.” Hopefully it will continue to boost when I get the rejection letter!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
