RSS

Make a Mark

03 Feb

My favorite quote actually isn’t about writing at all. It comes from Peter H. Reynold’s story The Dot. When art class is over, Vashti still sits in her chair, staring at her blank page. She thinks she can’t draw.

“Just make a mark and see where it takes you,” her teacher tells her. Vashti does and it takes her on a journey of self discovery.

I love this quote because making my mark is exactly what I’m doing. I’ve written (at least one of) my story. I’ve made my mark on the page. Now I’m trying to see how indelible the mark is. Will it make a mark in print? Will it make a mark on Mister’s life? Will it make a mark on the lives of more children? I’ll have to see where it takes me.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 3, 2012 in Inspiration and Ideas

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
