RSS

I’ll be the one with…

23 Jan

“How was your event?” I ask as my husband takes off his coat.

“Good,” he says, “after I found the guy I was supposed to meet.”

He goes on to explain that, though he told they guy he’d be in a pink shirt and pink tie, he didn’t meet up with him right away. He eventually did a google images search (smart, I know. That’s why I married him) to see what the guy looked like.

“When I introduced myself, he said, ‘Oh, you really are in a pink shirt and pink tie.”

“Maybe he didn’t believe that you’d be wearing that,” I said.

Mental note: if I’m going to tell someone I’ll be the one with…I’d better make it believable.

How do you make yourself stand out at an event, interview, or conference (like the SCBWI conference this weekend!)?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2012 in Other Stuff

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “I’ll be the one with…

  1. salsanpeeps

    January 23, 2012 at 10:41 am

    I think if you wore a pink shirt and a pink tie, you’d definitely stand out. I think for events, interviews, etc., the best thing to stand out is to be confident. Believe in yourself and your abilities and smile a lot. Not creepily though…

     
  2. Mary

    January 23, 2012 at 11:55 am

    groucho marx glasses. i have a pair you can borrow.

    no really: be prepared with an elevator speech — a 15-30 second sound bite about yourself/your work/your goals. That way, if the interviewer sits quietly for an eternity or asks, as her first question, “tell me about yourself”, you’ll be well provisioned.

    have some small talk questions ready: people like to talk about themselves, so ask about vacations planned or recently taken, projects completed or upcoming or what they do in their free time.

    and if, in an interview, you are asked how the interviewer can remember you, be fearless and memorable. Talk about some wacky skill you have or a crazy (safe, legal) thing you have done. Or think of something that benefits the interviewer unrelated to your job. Examples: wacky skill: you know american sign language or can juggle or change the oil in your car. In your free time, you hang drywall or gut the bathroom. crazy thing you have done: hopped on stage and performed with Bruce Springsteen (oh, wait, that was courtney cox). something that benefits the interviewer: you bake 1-2 times a week and bring the fruits of your labor into the office.

     

Leave a Reply

 
