RSS

Illuminated

19 Dec

The sun streams through the front room’s bay window. The house feels like a smile. It is the only thing smiling. This is the time of day that reveals all our flaws. Mister is melting down because I won’t let him have a Christmas cookie. The concealer caked over my under-eye circles has smeared revealing my true fatigue status. The sun shines on the dust particles floating through the air and the ones settled on the neglected surfaces reminding me of yet more work to be done.  And it illuminated the clock above the mantel. Four more hours until Husband gets home.

As wonderful as it was to have my work up on the MeeGenius website, it felt like it illuminated the dust settled on my writing.  How do you deal with the inevitable flaws in your writing?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 19, 2011 in Admitting You Write

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Illuminated

  1. 1 Story A Week

    December 19, 2011 at 11:27 am

    Wow! You write so beautifully! “The house feels like a smile.” I love that line.

     
    • cocoanqueso

      December 21, 2011 at 10:06 pm

      Thank you! Your comment had perfect timing, as I was getting a little discouraged with writing. You were my angel for the day!

       

Leave a Reply

