RSS

Done

14 Oct

Mister, Husband, and I recently got back from a grueling series of road trips. When he’s awake, Mister hates the car. He thrashes. He says, “Done. Done, none, none, none.” Then he screams. It is more than a little unnerving for the driver. So, we drive when he sleeps. That also means we drive when we would also normally be sleeping. To keep us awake, we listen to books on tape. This trip’s selections were Escape From Andersonville and The Lost Symbol.

The Lost Symbol, like other Dan Brown books we’ve listened to, is well-read including different voices and accents that make it easy to differentiate between characters. We still joke about Bezu Fache from The DaVinci Code, which we listened to about four years ago.

The Lost Symbol, again like other Dan Brown books, has a lot of foreshadowing. Each chapter ending is a cliff-hanger that keeps the reader guessing. At first, it makes the book exciting. I constantly wonder what will happen next. By chapter 31, however, I’m ready to say, “Done. Done, none, none, none,” too.

I learned a lot about foreshadowing from Dan Brown. He’s a pro at it. But I’ve decided to use what I’ve learned in moderation.

The type of foreshadowing I enjoy more is often such a surprise to me as the reader that I wonder if it wasn’t a surprise to the writer as well. It is the casual mention of an object, character, or character trait that is seemingly insignificant. Then, at the story’s climax, the aforementioned thing is highlighted as the missing piece of a complex puzzle.

Whichever kind of foreshadowing I use, masterful or not, I know will keep the reader invested in my story.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 14, 2011 in Foreshadowing

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

