RSS

Superwriter!

16 Sep

If I was a superhero, I’d want to have the power of super-speed. That way, I could make dinner, play with Mister, and write the next bestseller all at once.

If I was a superwriter, I’d combine the powers of several greats. I’d want Shel Silverstein’s way with words, William Faulkner’s ability to describe, Sandra Boynton’s humor, Will Hillenbrand’s ability to let the pictures tell part of the story, Gail Carson Levine’s enthusiasm for revising, Peter H. Reynold’s way of incorporating inspiring lessons wwithout being pushy, and Doreen Cronin’s ability to keep producing new, great stuff.

And I might just be that writer. Not that I’m a superwriter, but I think every time I read something, a little piece of it becomes a part of me. Reading all of these greats has shaped me and helped me find my own writing voice.

If that is true, Ellen, there is no reason you can’t be the next MaryTom RoachRobbins, but in your own voice.

So, I’ll keep reading, writing, and discovering as me. I hope you do the same, as you.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 16, 2011 in Inspiration and Ideas

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Superwriter!

  1. deshipley

    September 16, 2011 at 11:21 am

    ‘Tis true! — reading is a key component in joining the ranks of the Superwriters (who, now that I give it thought, *so* deserve to have their own comic book. And masks!).

     
  2. Tom Pierce

    September 16, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    Hi Beth,

    So glad you picked up on the fact that we all are originals and that we need not worry about being the next whomever. Each of us has a unique and original story to tell and to live. Your living and telling a wonderful story Beth. Thank You! Love uncle Tom.

     
    • cocoanqueso

      September 23, 2011 at 9:26 pm

      Thanks for your encouraging words. Though my life may not always beautiful, I’m trying to make the story worth telling! Love you!

       

Leave a Reply

