RSS

The Crust

04 Jul

I flop the butter in the pan and wait for it to melt. I slide a half-slice of bread around and lay a slice of cheese and another half of buttered bread on top. I let it sizzle until both sides are golden brown. I turn off the heat and pick up the pan. I rotate my wrist and the sandwich clinks onto the little plate. I carve around with my knife, munching as I go. I’m left with a rounded version of half a grilled cheese. That part is for Mister. My lunch? I already ate it. I get the crust.

 What part of your writing process gets shorted (the crust)?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 4, 2011 in Writing As A Priority

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “The Crust

  1. salsanpeeps

    July 7, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    Usually when i write, it’s off the cuff. So… when I think i’m being fluid, I’m actually missing whole thoughts. So… if it were a sammich, I’d say I was missing some of the meat. After that, IMd say I have a difficult time with conclu

     

Leave a Reply

