RSS

Something Itches

16 May

Mister just went to bed. Not without a fight, of course.  I take a quick shower and (I think) wash my hair twice. I can’t remember if I did it once already or not. I towel off and struggle into my pajamas. As I climb into bed, something doesn’t feel right. Something itches. I drag myself out of bed and trudge to the bathroom. I slide off my pajama bottoms and feel the inside for something pointy. Sometimes I get an elusive splinter that pokes me. Since I’m like The Princess and the Pea, I can’t sleep with that. Nothing there. I feel the outside of my underwear. No splinters there, but I do notice something. I put them on inside-out. Again. It is the second time this week. The elastic on the outside, the part that isn’t supposed to touch your skin, is what’s bugging me.

If I can’t even get my underwear on the right way, who am I to critique someone else’s writing?

What happens when someone asks you for critique?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 16, 2011 in Revising

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Something Itches

  1. Ellen

    May 16, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    What a coincidence! Today my friend asked me to critique his grad school paper. It was amateurish: poorly written, full of grammatical errors and sentence fragments and very scattered thematically. What sort of constructive comments can I offer to something that I want to rip to shreds? In this case, I’ll work with him on an outline and fix the most glaring spelling errors. Otherwise I’ll just have to agree to disagree on his phrasing and style. At least my undies are on right.

     

Leave a Reply

