RSS

Worth It

13 May

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m a bit of a worry wart. Asking for critique doesn’t make me worry any less. Usually, though, the critique I imagine my writer’s group* giving is much worse than the critique I actually get. In those agonizing moments between finishing a read aloud and hearing the critique, my critic drags out her megaphone and berates me. After that, anything my writer’s group says will seem less harsh.  And it is.  More importantly, what they have to say is honest. 

Despite my visceral reaction to asking for critique, what happens is that I get truthful feedback that guides me in the improvement of my story. Totally worth it.

*My writer’s group is made up of myself and the two best writing friends anyone could ask for.  They understand the struggles of the writing process.  They relate to rejection.  They lend their fresh eyes to my drafts and are honest in their reactions without being harsh.  If you don’t have a writer’s group, I highly recommend getting one!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 13, 2011 in Revising

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

