RSS

Chapter Book About Jesus

02 May

It is Open House night at Forest Hill Elementary in Morganton, North Carolina. My new first graders trickle in.  Some peek shyly at me from behind their parents’ legs.  Others run in, followed by embarrassed-looking moms and dads.

“That’s your favorite book?” one of the runners asks accusingly, pointing at my copy of The Relatives Came by Cynthia Rylant on the “All About Me” bulletin board.

“It is,” I tell him.  “We’ll read it together on the first day of school.”

“I have two favorite books,” he shares. “One is Thomas the Tank Engine and the other is a chapter book about Jesus.” He’s off and running again, leaving me a little relieved that he does sit still long enough to read.

To celebrate Children’s Book Week, this week’s question is more about reading than writing.  What is your favorite children’s book?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 2, 2011 in Inspiration and Ideas

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Chapter Book About Jesus

  1. Ellen

    May 3, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    Porcupines Should Definitely Not Wear Clothing. duh.

     
  2. Katie

    May 3, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    Oh boy. Way too many to choose from, especially since Mom was always reading to us. I would probably say Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day may take the cake on this one. We’re Going on a Bear Hunt is also one I loved and still do (and of course the illustrations are great as well). I also fell in love with all books written and illustrated by Steven Kellogg, especially Best Friends and the ones about his beloved dog, Pinkerton. Steven Kellogg was one of the reasons why I wanted to become an illustrator in the first place. Isn’t it funny how children’s books stick with us forever and some are still popular generations after they were written.

     
  3. Siobhan

    May 4, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    I’m with Katie on this one, there are just soooo many to choose from! “The Velveteen Rabbit”, we basically had the bible in kid book form (there are like 50 or so of them and the five of us would fight over who got to choose the story that night), Berenstein Bears, the book that has the rhyme “tikki tikki tembo no sah rhembo cherry berry ruchi pip perry pembo” (can’t remember the name and pretty sure I made up some of the spellings), Richard Scarry, Dr. Seuss, “The Night Before Christmas”, and I’m sure there are plenty that I’ve forgotten about

     
    • cocoanqueso

      May 6, 2011 at 6:54 pm

      I think that one is called Tikki Tikki Tembo. I should find my copy. Mister is really into sounds these days. Thanks for sharing your favorites!

       
  4. Mary

    May 5, 2011 at 10:44 am

    The monster at the end of this book is my favorite. But it competes with:
    Snoozers
    Bea and Mr. Jones
    Crichter
    A Snowy Day (but only the old copies whose ink that smelled really good)
    Let’s Get a Pup, Said Kate

     

Leave a Reply

