RSS

Writing Motto

18 Apr

I put down Wrestling With Your Angels (Janet O. Hagberg) and open my journal.  The writing exercise she just proposed is a tough one.  She suggests creating a writing motto.  I do a Google search for famous mottos (see below) for inspiration. I like “write from within,” but I think I’ve heard that before.  I’d like something with “wit” in it, but I don’t know what else I’d put with it. I think the motto will help my writing. That is, if I can ever write it.

What was a motto you created for yourself or your writing?

Can you guess which company created each motto (answers to follow in Friday’s post)?

1. “Yours is here”

2. “The possibilities are infinite”

3. “Don’t be evil” formerly“Search, Ads and Apps”

4. “Leap Ahead” and “Sponsors of Tomorrow”

5. “Finger Lickin’ Good”

6. “Life’s Good”

7. “Because I’m worth it” – [original: “Parce que je le vaut bien”]

8. “Arts for Art’s Sake” [original: “Ars Gratia Artis”]

9. “Where do you want to go today?”

10. “I’m lovin’ it”

11. “Connecting People”

12. “Ideas for life”

13. “Be everywhere, do everything, and never fail to astonish the customer.”

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 18, 2011 in Inspiration and Ideas

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Writing Motto

  1. Ellen

    April 20, 2011 at 9:27 am

    3. Google!

    5. KFC

    7. L’Oreal

    10. McDs

     
  2. Mary

    April 20, 2011 at 4:12 pm

    1. Dell
    4. Intel
    6. LG
    12. Panasonic
    13. Macy’s

    How ’bout “Nothing is an obstacle unless you say it is.”

    or, to use the word “wit”: “brevity is the soul of wit”

    or “wit beyond measure is man’s greatest treasure?”

    “outplay, outwit, outlast?”

    My mottos are two: all things are possible — except skiing through a revolving door
    and
    Everyone is rooting for you; you can do it (got that one on a fortune cookie while carbo loading before my 1st marathon.)

     

Leave a Reply

