RSS

Big News

25 Mar

The writer responsible for this week’s winning comment was Ellen:

I thought the poll question was “Where is it ok to pass gas?” To which I would answer that it always seems to happen in quiet places like libraries.

Libraries happen to be where I get inspiration….or more accurately, in the books in libraries. I like to compare varieties of writing styles and I have several writers whom I want to be when I grow up.

This is not a surprising source. I suppose that would be in the john…where I am also allowed to pass gas.

Watching the Rachael Ray Show. After my husband’s flatulence. Shoveling snow. In the bookstore. While picking a wedgie. I never know where or when an idea for a story might hit. I don’t think I’m alone in this. On their blogs and in their books about writing, authors admit that one of the most common questions they get asked by aspiring writers is “Where do you get your ideas?” Everyone everyone seems out to find that secret formula to discovering an idea that becomes a best-seller.

Are you ready for big news? I’ve got it. I have the secret formula for story ideas. Are you ready for it? The secret is that ideas are everywhere or nowhere. Oooooo. If you open your eyes, ears, mind, and heart, story ideas are everywhere. That is why everyone who posted comments last week  wanted to have something with them to record ideas at all times. If you just go through the motions of life and think going to the grocery store is just going to the grocery store and other day-to-day activities are mundane and meant to be accomplished with no attention, well, then for you, story ideas are nowhere. Everyone has the power to discover the idea for the next best-selling book. We just have to observe. Listen. Take in.

I’ll finish with a quote from my journal:

“I am a camera with its shutter open, quiet, passive, recoding, not thinking. Recording the man shaving at the window opposite the woman in a kimono washing her hair. Some day, all this will have to be developed, carefully printed, fixed.” –Christopher Isherwood

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 25, 2011 in Inspiration and Ideas

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

