RSS

Like a Little Girl Playing Dress-Up

07 Mar

I’m going out. Well, not really. It is only to a library meeting, but it is out of the house. Without the baby. That’s a big deal for me. So, yeah, I’m going out. You know what else? I’m carrying a purse. And not just any purse. I’m carrying my red purse. I’m going out and carrying my red purse. I hope it will make me feel young and attractive and like I’m not someone who wipes her baby’s spittle with her shirt sleeve in a pinch. I know as soon as I put it on that it doesn’t. Instead I feel like a little girl playing dress-up.

What makes you feel like a kid?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2011 in Inspiration and Ideas

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Like a Little Girl Playing Dress-Up

  1. Mary

    March 9, 2011 at 1:02 pm

    Puddle stomping
    Making baby pterodactyl or waterbuffalo noises
    Shouting “boy cooties, eeeeewww” when T tries to kiss me
    Staying up late to read
    Running in the woods/in the snow/in the rain (this also makes me feel like a warrior woman)
    Singing “I want a hippopatamus for christmas” or the not-nice version of “row, row, row your boat”
    Playing “air cymbals” (play the overture from Carmen if you want to know what I’m talking about.)
    Packing an excellent lunch — with cookies
    Carpet picnics, “afterschool” snacks, sandwiches cut into triangles
    Digging in the dirt and finding worms. And saying hello to them. Actually, saying hello to any animals I see (“Hi horseys, have a good breakfast…”)
    Falling asleep in the car
    Getting new shoes and underwear for the first day of school
    The smell of fishing tackle and of car wax
    Covering my eyes during scary movies — and staying up nights for weeks afterwards
    Using words like “barf”
    Finding Orion’s belt in the night sky
    The slightly dusty but still quite pleasant smell of my old teddy bear
    Daydreaming

     
  2. salsanpeeps

    March 10, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    for me, it’s wearing a purse and going to a library meeting as well…. actually, it’s playing catch. watching star wars. eating breakfast for dinner. picnicking on the living room floor. playing with nerf guns. the smell of spring. mini golfing. matchbox cars. putting all the blankets on and hiding under the covers. playing with mister’s toys.

     
  3. Juliann

    March 16, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    For me, it is being with the people that make me feel like a kid. Whether it is your family or an old friend, there are those people that make you feel young again, laugh until you cry, and forget the problems you are facing. That is when I feel most like a kid.

     

Leave a Reply

 
