RSS

Og-Fiff

28 Feb

It is 3 am. The. Worst. Time. Of. Day. Period. I’m feeding Mister in the rocking chair in the corner, cursing my husband who is sleeping undisturbed in the bed. I think he senses my disgust and decides to rub it in.

“Ermmmmmm,” he groans. He rolls over. Then he does the thing that makes me wish I’d eaten the leftovers he was looking forward to having for lunch. He lets out his “Og-fiff,*” of a snore. The nerve. Why couldn’t he just let out a string of z’s like the characters in picture books? At least I could close my eyes so I wouldn’t have to look at them. Then again, I’d probably end up resenting the letter z.

What word have you made up and used in your writing?

*Og-fiff is not a real word, but it is actually how my husband’s snoring sounds.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 28, 2011 in Word Choice

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “Og-Fiff

  1. salsanpeeps

    February 28, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    in a research paper in college, two of my classmates and i each made up a word apiece that we had to use in our philosophy final exam. i remember the words wirfeled and promugulated… but i can’t remember the third.

    not a word that i made up but in “one duck stuck” the author uses the word spluck. perhaps that’s what it sounds like when you remove your writer’s block. spluck. unstuck.

     
  2. Ellen

    March 1, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    My colleagues seem to think i invented the word e-introduce: to introduce two people in an email.

    Of the words we mispronounced as children, pantytoes (pantyhose) and umblaga (umbrella) have remained in our common parlance. As is “to bellow” which means to wait impatiently by the door of your home and yell for the people who are late.

    I also like splendiferous and a wide range of spanglish words.

     
  3. Mary

    March 3, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    honkshoo (emphasis on the second syllable, to describe Thinium’s snoring)

    most of these come from ellen’s early language development
    labilobi (labby-lobe-y) = ravioli
    shunk= lunch
    fridge-a-later
    hoscrital (hospital)

    and, although I can’t take credit for it, absosmurfely

     
  4. Mary

    March 3, 2011 at 3:03 pm

    PS –whenever I am up in the middle of the night, I think that about Japan. So 3am is a dark, lonely time when you are convinced that you are the only human on the planet. But consider, it is 3pm in Japan. People are at work, eating Bento boxes and having tea and going about their day. It feels less lonely if you pretend you are in Japan.

     
    • cocoanqueso

      March 3, 2011 at 3:09 pm

      I’ll have to get a pair of Zori, click my heels, and say “There’s no place like Japan. There’s no place like Japan.”
      Seriously, though, that is a comforting thought. Thank you for that.

       
  5. Katie Koenig

    March 4, 2011 at 9:28 am

    I read this week’s post and couldn’t think of any words I had made up, mostly because I don’t write. Then it dawned on me today…”Reesbah”….frisbee!

     
    • cocoanqueso

      March 7, 2011 at 9:47 am

      My mom reminded me of another. In the Genesis song Invisible Touch, I used to sing “busy bone touch shake.” Listen to the song. I swear that is what it sounds like!

       

Leave a Reply

