RSS

Stuck

21 Feb

I write at the top of the page, “Chapter Six.” I wait. I tap my pencil. I pick the goobers off the eraser. I stare out the window. Ten minutes pass. Nothing. I check my outline again. The sequence of events that seemed so logical while I was planning this book now just doesn’t fit. I start to feel like I do when I’m driving somewhere and I’m lost. I feel my body tense. I panic. “Great, now I’ll never finish this book,” I think. “That’s it. I’ll never finish this book. I’ll never get published. That is the end of my writing career. I’m finished.” I take a deep breath. I tell myself I’m overreacting. I go back to my outline and draw an arrow from the Chapter 6 heading to a clean spot on the page.

How do you work through being stuck with your writing?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2011 in Stuck

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Stuck

  1. mom

    February 21, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    What does it mean to be “stuck?” Is it failure or is it just time for your thoughts,ideas and words to marinate and come together into the funny, heartwarming, beautiful stories that you tell?

     
    • cocoanqueso

      February 22, 2011 at 8:53 am

      I think it feels like failure, but it really is just what you said. It is when your thoughts, ideas, and words simmer and come out as something beautiful. Still, I think it is sometimes necessary to do something to help yourself get through feeling stuck or get those things to come together.

       

Leave a Reply

