RSS

Micromanaging Equals Magic

18 Feb

Okay, okay. So I’ve never scrubbed the grout with a toothbrush (a scrubbrush is a different story…). But, I am pretty good at needing to do laundry, and I mean LOTS of laundry, when my writing isn’t going well. Suddenly, I need to wash the curtains, the winter coats, and all the clothes that Mister has grown out of even if they are just going in a box in the attic. And I don’t write while I wait for the cycle to finish. Oh no. I’m up and down the stairs a dozen times checking on the washer like maybe it forgot how to do its job and needs supervision. But, you know what? I think that’s okay. Micromanaging something else for a while, like the washer, makes something magical happen to my writing. And usually, when I get back to it, the problems have worked themselves out and I’m excited again to see what will happen next.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 18, 2011 in Procrastinating

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

