RSS

See You Next Time

11 Feb

The favorite response this week was from Katie:

I have dismissed countless hours of sleep, mostly when I have had a deadline to make. However, there have been many times when I just could not and did not want to stop.

There is still a discussion going on about teeth brushing in the shower.  Click “comments” below Monday’s post to join in.

On the topic of personal hygiene, there is something I put off regularly so I can write. You see, I love my hairdresser. I’ve been going to her for haircuts for as long as I can remember. And she’s good. She’s really good. She keeps me up on the trends. She gives me the best cut for my hair texture, my face shape, and my body type. Maybe, she’s even a little too good. I know that I can neglect my hair for months (right now it has been…oh…carry the one…5 months!) and as soon as I call her she’ll whip me right back into shape. She doesn’t complain about my split ends. She doesn’t say that it would be easier to cut my hair if I didn’t wait so long. At least not to my face. She just gets me looking good and says, “see you next time.” Who knows when that will be?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 11, 2011 in Writing As A Priority

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “See You Next Time

  1. Tom Pierce

    February 12, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    Hi Beth! I love your blog, and the fact that you are a writer. You do your old uncle proud. I loved the book that you and Katie did together.

    Regarding the post, I have a thought I wanted to share. My mentor, who happens to be a writer tells me to be disciplined about my passions and passionate about my disciplines. It seems like you already know this.

    I am glad that you are blogging. I will be following!

    By the way, I have been neglecting my hair for a long time. Or has my hair been neglecting me?

    Love you!

    Uncle Tom

     
    • cocoanqueso

      February 14, 2011 at 9:55 am

      Uncle Tom,

      Thanks for checking out the blog! I’m glad you visited in time to see the post on prioritizing writing and not this week’s on procrastinating :). I think your mentor is very wise. In fact, I’m putting that quote in my writing notebook. It is true that I am very passionate about writing. Most of the time I’m also disciplined. The more difficult the passion, the harder it is to be disciplined, I think. And writing isn’t always easy! But often the greater the challenge, the greater the reward. Writing certainly brings many rewards.

      As for your hair, I’ve heard that the less hair, the greater the intelligence.
      Love you!

       

Leave a Reply

