RSS

Brush My Hair OR My Teeth?

07 Feb

Mister sat in his bouncy seat in the bathroom while I showered this morning. After I got dressed, he was just beginning to fuss. So, I thought to myself, “I only have about two minutes before he has a meltdown. Will I brush my teeth or my hair today?” Really! Or! I was about to choose which act of personal hygiene to neglect so I could get the baby. But I’ve (and admit it, you have too) neglected some crazier things for the sake of writing.

What is the craziest thing you ever put off so you could write?

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 7, 2011 in Writing As A Priority

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “Brush My Hair OR My Teeth?

  1. Siobhan

    February 7, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    At the moment I am currently putting off studying for the NAVLE to write you a proper handwritten letter. Of all things to put off, the NAVLE’s are probably not the best of ideas. However my rationale is that I’m finding the letter very therapeutic which will, in the long run, help me to focus on the task at hand!

     
  2. Katie Koenig

    February 7, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    Even though I am an artist and not a writer, I think the two are very similar. Writers and artists both have a need to express themselves creatively. It is an overwhelming feeling that it is hard to describe. It is almost like a hunger I guess, but deeper than that. And until we satisfy that craving, we will put anything off. So of course, I have neglected many tasks for the sake of creative expression. Predominantly, I have dismissed countless hours of sleep, mostly when I have had a deadline to make. However, there have been many times when I just could not and did not want to stop. Those are my favorite times to paint. I am so content to sit with a brush in my hand through the wee hours of the night. I think it is easy to paint that late because there are no distractions. I know that the rest of the world is sleeping and I have all night. It’s just me, my paint, and that craving. I may be a little groggy the next day, but at least I satisfied that hunger.

     
  3. Ellen

    February 8, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    Have you considered brushing your teeth in the shower?

     
    • cocoanqueso

      February 8, 2011 at 3:59 pm

      Unless I plan on using my toes to grip the toothbrush, I don’t think it will work. My shower is rushed already because I’m worrying about him fussing. Luxuries like shaving or conditioner even get skipped at this point. Don’t worry, I manage. And I did brush my teeth AND my hair.

       
      • Mary

        February 9, 2011 at 10:01 am

        mouthwash in shower. 2 in 1 shampoo and conditioner. more later, after I get this work newsletter out. (how was that for efficiency AND use of irony?)

         
  4. Jul

    February 10, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    I always brush my teeth in the shower…I didn’t know that this wasn’t normal!

     
    • cocoanqueso

      February 11, 2011 at 9:48 am

      Well, I didn’t know it was normal to brush your teeth in the shower. So, like you do when you come across something you don’t know, I googled it. This is not the first conversation about brushing your teeth in the shower. I even found a how-to that describes the steps of successful shower tooth brushing. This question may be almost as controversial as whether to load the toilet paper so it rolls over or under. Me? Over. And brush teeth outside the shower.

       

Leave a Reply

